Social marketing trends will top discussions at the forthcoming Advertisers Association of Nigeria (ADVAN) Awards scheduled for October 31, 2015 at MUSON Centre, Lagos. To do justice to theme ‘Unlocking Growth through Sustainability/Social Impact Marketing” is the Chief Executive Officer of MTN Nigeria, Michael Ikpoki.

Highlighting the essence of the awards in the marketing industry, the ADVAN’s Executive Secretary, Ediri Ose-Ediale said: “The objective of the ADVAN Awards for Marketing Excellence is to recognise organisations that have achieved outstanding results through initiatives that demonstrate innovative marketing strategies and execution.”

The awards has evolved over the years in response to new developments in marketing theory and practice, to reflect the growing appreciation of the critical role of marketing as the vital source of value creation for business, said Ose-Ediale.

While speaking on the choice of theme for the ADVAN 2015 awards, the Chief Executive Officer of Web Talent, Mike Canerelli said: “Rather than emphasising the organisation’s occasional donations, community building projects or charitable events, a social impact strategy should focus on the company’s day-to-day contributions.”

According to Canerelli, “Social impact strategies are designed to improve an organization’s overall mission – not just its brand identity. They serve as concrete and measurable plans that have quantifiable business outcomes and definitive societal impacts.”

Ose-Ediale said this year’s event would focus on the role of marketing in societal advancement and the association could not have picked a better person than CEO of MTN Nigeria, the largest telecommunication company in sub- Saharan Africa.

Some of the categories for this year awards include Innovation, Consumer Insights, CSR, Consumer Promotions, Brand of the year, Campaign of the Year, New Brand of the Year, Digital Marketing, Experiential, Brand Manager of the Year, Future Leader of Marketing and Brand Journalist of the Year

In accordance with this year’s theme, the ADVAN’s Executive Secretary said: “We will be giving out an honorary award to a deserving individual in our ‘Icon of Impact’ Category.”

The ADVAN Awards Committee is chaired by Mrs. Patricia Jemibewon, Marketing Director, Coca-Cola Nigeria and other committee members such as Gerald Osugo, Head of Marketing, Etisalat; Mr. Wasiu Abiola, Senior Media Manager, Nigerian Breweries Plc and Ose-Ediale.

Expected to grace the annual event are Chief Executive Officers, Chief Marketing Officers, heads of government/ regulatory bodies, CEOs of Top Media Organisations and heads of advertising agencies in Nigeria.